Virginia Personal Injury Lawyers
In Virginia, a reckless driving conviction is a class I misdemeanor. The potential penalties include jail time, suspension of driving privileges, and a fine of up to $2,500.00. Additionally, a conviction will result in six demerit points on your Virginia driver’s license. Some other states have reciprocity agreements with Virginia, meaning a Virginia reckless driving conviction may appear on your driving record even if you live in a different state. You may have to explain that misdemeanor conviction at inconvenient times throughout your life, such as when applying for a job or security clearance.
More than one conviction of reckless driving may likely result in some of the more severe penalties described above.
It’s easier to be charged with reckless driving than you may think. For example, you may be charged if you (i) have an accident (even a one car accident wherein no one is hurt), (ii) are accused of speeding 20 mph over the speed limit, (iii) are accused of driving 80 mph, regardless of the posted speed limit, or even (iv) burn rubber.
There are sometimes ways to successfully fight a reckless driving charge or minimize the sentence if you are convicted. Moreover, some judges are more receptive (while others are completely unreceptive) to certain strategies to defend against a reckless driving charge and/or strategies to obtain a lesser sentence if you are convicted. An experienced attorney just might be able to help you.
By working from the offices of MartinWren, P.C. in Charlottesville and Harrisonburg, Kirk Becchi is a Charlottesville Reckless Driving Attorney and a Harrisonburg Reckless Driving Attorney representing persons accused of reckless driving in Central Virginia and in the Shenandoah Valley. Many of his clients are college students. Also, many of his clients are charged on Interstate 64 or Interstate 81. Please contact Kirk at (434) 817-3100 or (540) 437-0001, or email him at firstname.lastname@example.org, if you have been charged with reckless driving.